Five Days’ National Workshop on
MATLAB and LaTeX for Beginners
organised by
Department of Mathematics,
National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli
4th-8th April, 2022


Objective of the workshop:
The objective of the workshop is to give the participants an introduction to the computing software MATLAB and the typesetting software LaTeX. Sessions on specific packages in both the software will enable the participants to gain practical knowledge on MATLAB and LaTeX.

Topics to be covered Target audience

• Basics of MATLAB
• Solving ODEs in MATLAB
• Solving PDEs using FDM in MATLAB
• Introduction to Simulink
• Introduction to Monte Carlo simulation in MATLAB
• Elements of LaTeX
• Graphics in LaTeX
• Beamer presentation
• TikZ package

• B.Tech. students
• M.Tech. students
• M.Sc. students
• Research scholars
• Teaching professionals

Resource Persons:
• Dr. V.Ravichandran, NITT
• Dr. Abhijit Das, NITT
• Dr. Atul Kumar Verma, NITT
• Dr. Deepti Shakti, Chatrapati Sahu ji Maharaj Govt. Polytechnic, UP
• Dr. Sudipta Chakraborty, NIT Silchar
• Dr. Ankur Kanaujiya, NIT Rourkela
• Dr. Natasha Sharma, KMV Jalandhar

Important Dates

Registration Fees

Registration starts on 08-03-2022
Registration ends on 30-03-2022
UG students: Rs.150
PG students: Rs.250
Scholars and teaching professionals: Rs.300

Registration link

Payment procedure
1. Go to the SBI-collect using the link
2. Select the state as ‘Tamil Nadu’, and category as ‘Educational Institutions’.
3. Select “Conference and Workshop NIT Trichy”.
4. Select payment category as “MaTeX 2022 Maths”.
5. Make payment through UPI/ Net Banking/ Credit card/ NEFT.
6. Once the fee is paid, fill up your details and upload the payment receipt in the workshop registration form.


Programme Details
The workshop will be conducted online via the video conferencing platform Cisco WebEx. For workshop tentative schedule click here  and for regular updates, keep visiting the workshop webpage.


Organising Committee

Dr. Atul Kumar Verma,

Dr. Abhijit Das,
Assistant Professors,
Department of Mathematics, NITT

Dr. V.Lakshmana Gomathi Nayagam
Head, Dept. of Mathematics, NITT


Dr. Atul Kumar Verma,
Dr. Abhijit Das,
Dr. M.Sivanesan,
Dr. N.Shivaranjani,
Assistant Professors,
Department of Mathematics, NITT