B.Tech. / B.Arch.



1. Joint Entrance Examination (Main)

The Ministry of Education [erstwhile Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD)], Government of India (GOI) has established National Testing Agency (NTA) as an independent autonomous and self-sustained premier testing organization under Society Registration Act 1860 for conducting efficient, transparent and international standards tests in order to assess the competency of candidates for admissions to premier higher education institutions.

The Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India has entrusted the responsibility of conducting Joint Entrance Examination JEE (Main) to the NTA from 2019 onwards.

Admission criteria to Undergraduate Engineering Programs at NITs, IIITs, other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTI), Institutions funded by participating State Governments, and other Institutions shall include the performance in the class 12/equivalent qualifying Examination and in the Joint Entrance Examination, JEE (Main). The (B. E. /B. Tech.) of JEE (Main) will also be an eligibility test for the JEE (Advanced), which the candidate has to take if he/she is aspiring for admission to the undergraduate programs offered by the Indian Institute of Technology (IITs).

For further details, please visit: https://jeemain.nta.nic.in/

2. Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA)

The Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) 2020 has been set up by the Ministry of Education [erstwhile Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD)] to manage and regulate the joint seat allocation for admissions to 111 institutes for the academic year 2020-21. This includes 23 IITs, 31 NITs, IIEST Shibpur, 26 IIITs and 30 Other-Government Funded Technical Institutes (Other-GFTIs). Admission to all the academic programs offered by these Institutes will be made through a single platform.


Qualifying Examination Admitting Institutes
JEE (Advanced) IITs
JEE (Main) / B.E./ B.Tech. NITs, IIEST, IIITs (Triple-I-Ts) and Other-GFTIs
JEE (Main) / B.Arch.
JEE (Main) / B.Planning


For Further Details, Please visit: http://josaa.nic.in/

3. Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA)

Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA) is for admission to Undergraduate courses of Engineering and Architecture programs in premium institutions like NIT’s, IIIT’s, SPA’s and CFTI’s (Centrally Funded & Premier Technical Institutes). The admission is based on the SAT score and the aspirants should have a minimum total valid score of 1800 in SAT Subject Tests (Subjects: Mathematics Level 2, Physics and Chemistry). This Scheme is an initiative by Ministry of Education [erstwhile Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD)], Government of India for the candidates like Foreign Nationals / Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) / Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) / Overseas Citizen of India (OCI).

For further details, please visit: http://www.dasanit.org

4. ICCR Scholarship

India is known as education hub attracting international students from all over the world. Indian’s diversity and vibrant history tender a broad range of options for students. With access both to such rich and divert as well as a rapidly growing country on the cutting edge of the technological revolution, studying in India has much to offer, whether an applicant interests Engineering, Computers, Philosophy, Politics or in Classics etc.

Indian Council for Cultural Relations with a mandate of administering scholarship programmes of Government of India annually awards about 3940 scholarship under 26 different schemes to foreign students from about 140 counties. Amongst these 23 schemes, six are funded by ICCR from its’ own grant and others are administered on behalf of MEA and Ministry of Ayush. The courses offered for studies are for under-graduation, post-graduation and M. Phil /PhD levels. In every academic year ICCR holds about 6000 + foreign students who are studying at various Central/States University, Institutes, NITs and Agricultural Institutions etc.

For further details, please visit: https://www.iccr.gov.in
For further details, please visit: http://a2ascholarships.iccr.gov.in/

5. Study in India

The Study in India program has designed a framework to award scholarships and tuition fee waivers for meritorious students applying to the program. The Study in India team has collaborated with the Indian government wings - MHRD, MEA, and MIC, to draw out this scheme. The program offers scholarships called the Study in India Scholarships on an annual basis, while its partner institutes provide tuition fee waivers.

The Study in India Scholarship scheme covers the admission fees, tuition fees, accommodation (room and boring) costs, and food costs. Any costs and expenses outside the above mentioned are not considered under this scheme. The scheme is further divided into two sub-schemes, based on a merit list and the Ind-SAT examination. A set of scholarships are offered based on a merit-list, which is evaluated and verified by the Study in India team during the document verification process. The team also reviews and awards scholarships to exemplary students who appear for the online-proctored, 90-minute Ind-SAT examination conducted by the Study in India team and the National Testing Agency.

For further details, please visit: https://www.studyinindia.gov.in/

List of B. Tech. Courses (8 Semester)

B. Arch. Course (10 Semester)

Central facilities and Centres

Central facilities and Centres
Brochure for UG placement 2020-21

Virtual tour of NIT-T

Virtual tour of NIT-T

Opening and closing ranks

JoSAA 2019 Opening and closing ranks (2019)
JoSAA 2018 Opening and closing ranks (2018)
JoSAA 2017 Opening and closing ranks (2017)
JoSAA 2016 Opening and closing ranks (2016)
JoSAA 2015 Opening and closing ranks (2015)
CSAB 2014 Opening and Closing ranks (2014)
CSAB 2013 Opening and closing ranks (2013)
AIEEE 2012 B.Tech. & B.Arch (2012)
AIEEE 2011 B.Tech. & B.Arch (2011)
AIEEE 2010 B.Tech. (2010), B.Arch. (2010)

Fee details

1. Institute Fee (2020 - 21) / UG and PG
2. Hostel Establishment & Mess Advance fees for Odd Semester 2020

Curriculum & Syllabus

B.Tech. Curriculum & Syllabus

Student Conduct and Disciplinary Code

Student Conduct and Disciplinary

Other Links

  1. National Commission for Backward Classes (http://www.ncbc.nic.in/)
  2. Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment (http://socialjustice.nic.in/)
  3. Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Government of India (https://tribal.nic.in/)
  4. Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities (http://disabilityaffairs.gov.in/)

UG Admissions Committee

  1. Dr. S.T. Ramesh, Chairman / Professor, Department of Civil Engineering
  2. Dr. V. Mariappan, Member & Associate Dean (UG-I) / Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  3. Dr. S. Vinodh, Member / Associate Professor, Department of Production Engineering
  4. Dr. M. Brindha, Member / Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science Engineering

JoSAA / CSAB documents

Candidate Registration, Choice Filling & Choice Locking Module (PDF), (Video)

Contact Information

UG Admission Committee
National Institute of Technology
Tiruchirappalli – 620 015
Phone: +91-431-2503931 (During the admission schedule only)
E-Mail: ug@nitt.edu