Distinguished Alumni Award - 2013

The Board of Governors, Chairman and the Director, NIT Trichy are   pleased to announce the recipients of the Distinguished Alumni  Award,2013.

NIT, Trichy initiated honoring her distinguished alumni during the   year 2007 and the process continued till 2009, by which time in all 44   alumni were honored with the DA award.

The process was initiated again in 2012 calling for nominations under   5 broad categories with the eligibility criteria of 25 years after  graduation for UG and 20 years after graduation for PGs.

The five broad categories are as follows:

A. Excellence in Academic / Research
B. Excellence in Corporate / Industry
C. Excellence in Public Administration
D. Excellence in Entrepreneurial venture
E. Excellence in service to the society at large

The distinguished jury consisted Heads of Public Sector, Central   Government Institution, Medical professional in social service and a   former recipient of  DAA. Upon deliberations, the jury for selecting   the outstanding alumni of NIT, Trichy, recommended the following   nominations for conferring the Distinguished Alumni Award under 5  categories as given below :

Academic Research

1.Dr.U.Balachandran, Sr.Director,Argonne National Lab,Chicago, USA
2.Late Dr. Panyam R. Ramprasad,(Ex-Program Director & Associate   Director, DRDL)
3.Dr.S.V.Sreenivasan,Professor, Univ. of Texas, Austin (Thornton   Centennial Professor of Mechanical Engineering)
4.Dr.S. Suresh, Retired as GM and Head, WRI, BHEL
5.Dr.Krishnan Balasubramaniam, Dean, Industrial Consultancy and   Sponsored Research, IITM


1.Shri.N.Chandrasekaran, CEO & MD, TCS
2.Dr.Praveen Vishakantaiah, ex-President, Intel India (presently Intel, USA)
3.Shri.S. Srinivasan,CEO, IFFCO Kisan Sanchar Ltd
4.Shri.R. Krishnan, Director (HR), BHEL
5.Shri.V. Nandakumar, Director, ESSAR, formerly CMD, MECON
6.Shri.M. Henry Mohan, Sr. Director, Motorola, Chennai

Service to Society at large

1.Shri.K. Muralidharan,Founder Chairman, Sankara Eye Foundation
2.Shri.R. Sundar, Co-founder Mastek Ltd and Board Member Sankara Eye  Foundation

Entrepreneurial Venture

1.Shri.K. Ravikumar, Founder Chairman, Loadstar Eqpt pvt ltd and   earlier founder Indital Construction Machinery
2.Shri.B.V. Ramanan, Chairman and MD, Livia Polymer Bottles Pvt Ltd
3.Shri. Oscar Concessao, Founder, OCI Architects
4.Smt. Ponni M.Concessao, Co-Founder OCI Architects
5.Shri. Ron Parmar Aka L.Ramesh Kumar, Chairman & Founder, W2bi and AetherPal
6.Shri.S. Ravi, Managing Director, Mercuri Goldmann [India] Pvt Ltd

Public Administration

1.Air Marshal P.. Kannakaraj, AVSM,Air Marshal
2.Rear Adminaral (Retd) Rakesh Bajaj VSM, Director (CP and P), Mazagon  Dock Ltd
3.Shri. Raj Kumar Chellaraj, CFO and Associate Dean (Finance and   Adminstration), Stanford University
4.Dr.Senthilnatha, Vice Provost- Planning and Institutional   Effectiveness, Higher College of Technology, Abu Dhabi

Hearty Congratulations !