Sponsored Projects

This Department is recently funded by Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India, under “Fund for Improvement of S & T Infrastructure in Universities and Higher Educational Institutions" (FIST) for five years (2008-2012)

Projects sanctioned during the period 2013 to 2019 can be seen in the individual faculty webpages.


Details of the Projects sanctioned during the period: 2000-2012

Name of the Investigator Title of the project and duration Funding Agency
Dr. T. Balasubramanian Development of a Stable Six Degree Platform (Stewart’s Platform) for Motion in Unstructured Environment. (2004-2007) Study of protein drug interaction- a computational approach
Dr. D. Sastikumar Design of Thickness and Micro - displacement Photonic Sensors. (2001-2003) MHRD
Laser Surface Alloying of Aluminium - silicon Alloy with Silicon Nitride (2002-2004) MHRD
Metal Carbide composite layer formation on aluminium alloy by laser processing (2003-2005) DST
Laser surface Alloying of Aluminium alloy and stainless steel with Cr and SiC.  (2002-2005) CSIR
Modernization of Non-Destructive Testing Laboratory. (2004 -2006 ) MHRD
Design of fiber optic sensors for measuring thickness of thin transparent materials and on-line monitoring of refractive index of liquids. (2004-2006) MHRD
Dr. A.R. Ganesan Development of a Phase sensor for Adaptive Optics Applications (2000-2002) IRDE, DRDO
Closed Loop Laser Beam Setting Steering system with Tip-Tilt Mirror for Adaptive Optics. (2002-2003) IRDE, DRDO
Investigations in Optical Wave front Sensing Schemes (2003-2006) IRDE, DRDO
Dr. S. Parthasarathy Bifurcations and Chaos in periodically pulsed Nonlinear Electronic Circuits. (2002-2005) DRDO
Non linear dynamics of pulsed chaotic circuits – Application to chaotic secure Communication. (2004-2007) CSIR
Dr. M. Ashok Nano-Porous Hydroxyapatite Nanocomposite For Tissue Engineering Applications.      (2006-2009) DST-SERC
Dr. A. Chadra Bose Development of Micro plasma spraying Technique for the preparations of Nanomaterials (2007-2010)  DST-SERC
Dr. N. V. Giridharan Realization of crack free thick film PZT for the Application to Piezo Cantilever Fabrication ( 2007-2010)    DST
Dr. R. Justin Joseyphus   Development of Magnetic Nanoparticles for Detoxification and Drug Delivery (2008-11) DST-SERC
Dr. A. Chandra Bose  Development and Characterization of one-dimensional oxide nanomaterials for gas sensing applications (2008-11) NRB
Dr. N. Gopalakrishnan Co-doping and bandgap engineering in ZnO thin films for optoelectronic applications (2008-11) DRDO
Dr. S. Gokul Raj  Exploration of Multiferroism in Rare Earth Manganites for Electric and Magnetic Storage Applications (2008-11) DST-SERC
Dr. A. Chandra Bose Dr. R. Justin Joseyphus (Co-investigators) Synthesis and characterization of nanomaterials for engineering applications (2009-2012) DST-Nanomission
Dr. B. Karthikeyan Synthesis and exciton dynamic study on semiconductor quantum dot nanocomposite particles (2009-2012) DST-SERC