## National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli - 620015



25 July 2018 Updated on 1 August 2018

## Report on DAA & YAA

## **ALUMNI INSTITUTE INTERACTION CELL – AIIC**

Distinguished Alumni Awards (DAA) for Academic, Research, Managerial Contribution, Entrepreneurship, Public Administration, Social Service etc and Young Alumnus Achiever Award (YAA)

The Alumni of the National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli, are well renowned and decorating the chairs of various established organisations across the globe. They bring very high laurels and accolades to their alma-mater through their expertise, talents and experience in various domains. As a token of recognition, appreciation and love from the Institution where they were rooted, the NITT is conferring the Distinguished Alumni Awards(DAA) for Academic, Research, Managerial Contribution, Entrepreneurship, Public Administration, Social Service etc and Young Alumnus Achiever Award (YAA) since 2007.

Those alumni who have completed 20 years after their post-graduation / 25 years after under-graduation from REC Tiruchirappalli are eligible for the DAA and those who are not more than 40 years by age are eligible for the YAA awards. The Institute has proudly announced her list of awardees for the year 2018 and the award ceremony is planned as a part of the 14th Convocation of the Institute with a view of motivating the fresh alumni group who graduate on the day. Five alumni are awarded the DAA in the field of Excellence in Corporate / Industry viz.,

- 1. Dr. Jayshree Seth, Corporate Scientist and Chief Science Advocate (3M), B.Tech., Chem. Engg. (1989),
- 2. Dr. Kumar Balachandran, Expert, Wireless Communication Networks (Ericsson Inc.), B.E. (Hons.), ECE (1986),
- 3. Dr. Raghupathy Venkat Giridhar, Vice President, Non Volatile Memory Solutions Group (INTEL Corporation), B.E. (Hons.), ECE(1980),
- 4. Mr. Rajamanohar R., Executive Director, (BHEL Tiruchirappalli), B.E. EEE (1980),
- 5. Mr. Subrahmanian K., Executive Vice Chairman (AFCONS Infrastructure), B.E. Mech. Engg. (1980).

Two members are awarded the DAA in the field of Excellence in Entrepreneurial Venture, viz.,

- 1.Mr. Srihari Balakrishnan, Managing Director (Sri Kannapiran Mills Limited & KG Denim Limited), B.Tech., Chem. Engg.(1990).
- 2.Mr. Swaminathan Jayaraman, Founder & Managing Director (Vascular Concepts Limited), Bachelors (1986).

Dr. Praveen Kumar B., Scientist – 'E' (ARDE, Pune), B.E. Metallurgical Engg. (2002) is awarded the YAA in the field of Excellence in Academic/ Research (YAA)

As an attempt to connect with the alumni, and interact with them to facilitate possible collaborations in research and development activities in industry, research organizations and reputed universities, the Institute has initiated an Alumni Institute Interaction Cell and its office is also inaugurated on the convocation day.

The Institute congratulates all the awardees and appreciates their contributions to the society with great honour and pride. Also the Institute thanks and appreciates the continuous support extended by the alumni to their alma-mater where the Internet of Things Innovation Centre Lab, Student Centre for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Lab, 10kW Roof Top Solar on grid power generation unit are a few to name.



Photo: Dr. Jayshree Seth, Corporate Scientist and Chief Science Advocate (3M)



Photo: Dr. Kumar Balachandran, Expert, Wireless Communication Networks (Ericsson Inc.)



Photo: Dr. Raghupathy Venkat Giridhar, Vice President, Non – Volatile Memory Solutions Group (INTEL Corporation)



Photo: Mr. Rajamanohar R., Executive Director, (BHEL Tiruchirappalli) receiving the DAA from Dr.Mini Shaji Thomas, Director



Photo: Mr. Subrahmanian K., Executive Vice Chairman (AFCONS Infrastructure



Photo: Mr. Srihari Balakrishnan, Managing Director (Sri Kannapiran Mills Limited & KG Denim Limited) receiving the DAA from Dr.Mini Shaji Thomas, Director



Photo: Mr. Swaminathan Jayaraman, Founder & Managing Director (Vascular Concepts Limited) receiving the DAA from Dr.Mini Shaji Thomas, Director



Photo: Dr. Praveen Kumar B., Scientist – 'E' (ARDE, Pune) receiving the YAA from Dr.Mini Shaji Thomas, Director