Dr. D. Sriram Kumar



    Formula: 0


  • B.E (1991) in Electronics and Communication Engineering, Thiagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai, India.
  • M.E (1993) with Distinction in Microwave and Optical Engineering, Alagappa Chettiar College of Engineering and Technology, Karaikudi, India.
  • Ph.D (2009) in Microwave Integrated Circuits – Coplanar Waveguide- Discontinuities, Periodic structures – Analysis, Antenna Applications, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli, India.

Positions Held

  • Head of the department (From Februray 2014 – to till date).
  • Head of the department - In charge (30/05/2013 – 04/08/2013).
  • Associate Professor since July 2010.
  • Faculty, National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, India (Since 19/11/1997).
  • Faculty, Raja College of Engg & Tech, Madurai, Tamilnadu (24/07/1996 - 18/11/1997).
  • Faculty, VIT, Vellore, Tamilnadu (03/08/1994 - 23/06/1996).


  • Microwave and Optical Engineering
  • Antennas and Wave Propagation

Research Interests

  • Microwave integrated circuits
  • Optical networks
  • Smart antennas
  • Carbon nanotube antennas
  • Free space optics
  • Optical & Reconfigurable  antennas
  • Flexible electronics
  • Photonics

Academic Excellence

  • Underwent TEQIP training at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore during May 2007 (1 month), on “Millimeter wave techniques and fabrication”, under the guidance of Prof. Dr. A. Alphonse, School of Electrical and Electronics Engineering.
  • OSA Best paper award - S. Anand, D. Sriram Kumar, International OSA Network of Students (IONS – Asia 6 Kharagpur), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) - Kharagpur, Optical Society of America (OSA), December 10–12, 2014.

Projects Undertaken

RF MEMS Component (Reconfigurable antenna), MHRD, 36 months, worth Rs.11 lakhs (As Project Coordinator).


D. Sriram Kumar, Problems and Solutions in Probability, Random Variables and Random Signal Principles by Peyton Z. Peebles, McGraw-Hill Education publications, 2012.

Ph.D Guidance

Sl.No. Name of the student Areas of Research Fellowship Status
1. Dr. M. Levy Fractal concepts in optical & smart antennas MHRD Completed
2. Dr. K. Prabu Free space optical communication TEQIP Completed
3. Dr. S. Anand RF Nanotechnology MHRD Completed
4. Ms. S. Gunavathi UWB antennas - Ongoing
5. Ms. V. Sudha Wireless networks - Ongoing
6. Ms. J. Jeyarani Signal processing in FSO - Ongoing
7. Mr. K. Venkatachalam Photonic crystals based optical DWDM - Ongoing
8. Mr. N.V. Rajasekhar Antennas for future wireless applications DeitY Ongoing
9. Mr. N. Geetha Antennas for wireless applications - Ongoing
10. Mr. M.Sasiganth MIMO for wireless communications MHRD Ongoing
11. Mr M.Rajamadasamy Photonics - Ongoing
12. Mr Bharathreddy Gudibandi Antennas for wireless applications DeitY Ongoing
13. Mr Harish Adhithya Antennas for wireless applications MHRD Ongoing

MS (By Research) Guidance

Sl.No. Name of the student Areas of Research Status
1. Mr. Mayur Sudesh Darak Metamaterials Completed
2. Mr. G.S. Madhusudan Metamaterial loaded UWB antennas Ongoing
3. Ms. Neha Mishra Free space optical communication Ongoing

Collaboration with Foreign Universities

Ph.D Student Visited Abroad Duration University visited Area and Foreign Supervisor
Dr. M. Levy Jan 2012 – July 2012 University of Saskatchewan,
Saskatoon, Canada.
Ultra wide band antennas for
biomedical applications,

Prof. Dr. Anh Van Dinh


Click here to view the list of Journals.

Click here to view the list of National and International Publications.

Workshop / Seminar organized

Sl. No. Workshop / Seminar Month & Year
1. A two day workshop on “Research methods and LaTeX”. 20 & 21, September 2013.
2. A two day workshop on “Recent trends in wireless networks”. 26 & 27, August 2013.
3. One day technical seminar on “Research issues and
challenges in social network computing”.
04, May 2012.
4. Two day’s workshop on “Research methods”. 05 & 06, August 2010.
5. AICTE - MHRD sponsored faculty development program on
“Recent trends in microwave integrated circuits”.
17, July 2010.
6. One day workshop on “Microwave integrated circuit
components design layout and fabrication - an introduction”.
07, October 2006.

Academic and Administrative Responsibilities Held

  • Chairman  - Ph.D & MS (By Research)  admission committee
  • Presently member in Centre of Excellence (CoE) in (i) Electronic packaging, (ii) Smart structures, and (iii) Social network computing.
  • TEQIP (Nodal Officer / Finance, during Jan. 2010 – Jan.’13)
  • Computer Central Committee (Executive member, from 29/05/2009 to 22/03/2012)
  • Training officer at Training and Placement NITT (During Jan. 2007 – Dec. 2010)
  • Secretary and Treasurer of ISTE-NITT chapter (Since 2003 to till date).

Professional Body Membership

  • Member of IETE, New Delhi (M-189092) since Jan 2007.
  • Member of Institution of Engineers (MIE M 125319-5), Since 16/06/2003.
  • Chartered Engineer (INDIA), Since 09/02/2001.
  • Member of Society of Automotive Engineers, INC, Since 1997.
  • Life Member of ISTE (LM 20034), New Delhi, Since 1995.

Contact Address

Dr. D. Sriram Kumar
Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli
India - 620015