66th YEAR LIK TROPHY JURY & PANEL DISCUSSION ARCHITECTURE AND CLIMATE CHANGE

JARBAR SABHAGRUHA, SANGLI

17-02-2024 **DEPARTMENT OF ARCHITECTURE** NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY TIRUCHIRAPPALLI



National Association of Students of Architecture

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF STUDENTS OF ARCHITECTURE (NASA INDIA)







OVERVIEW

NIT Trichy had the honor of hosting the Closed Jury of 66th Year Louis I Kahn (LIK) Trophy on February 17, 2024, followed by a **panel discussion on climate change in architecture**. Architecture schools throughout India submitted their sheets, which focus on the architectural documentation of diverse places across India.

The morning session comprised of the jury, with the panel discussion in the afternoon.





THE JURY

Four eminent architects made up the panel: Ar.Neelkanth Chhaya, Ar.Vikas Dilawari, Ar.Malvika Saini, and Ar.Sathya Prakash Varanashi. The event was also attended by NASA India's executive council members, Mr. Hari Sasikumar (National President) and Ms. Evanthika Pereira (Zonal President - Zone 5)





Conservation Architect

JURY PROCEEDINGS

The jury was a closed event, with the 4 architects unanimously deciding the citations and special mentions of the 66th Year LIK Trophy



















PANEL DISCUSSION

The panel discussion's theme, "Climate Change in Architecture," is very significant when talking about the current state of the world. The esteemed panelists explored a range of related subjects, such as adaptive reuse and the critical function of conservation architecture. The architects underscored the importance of adaptive reuse in mitigating the effects of climate change. They provided examples of how reusing heritage sites might protect its culture while simultaneously lowering carbon impact. The critical role that conservation architecture plays in the consequences of climate change was another major topic of discussion. They emphasized that combining conventional knowledge with cutting-edge methods might result in environmentally friendly building designs.



PANEL DISCUSSION - SNAPSHOTS





















The event was graced by the presence of the professors of the Department of Architecture, including Head of Department Dr. K. Premkumar, Faculty Advisor for NASA Prof. Amalan Kaushik, Prof. Sangeetha, Prof. Bhagyasri and Prof. Lakshya Satija.

The panel discussion was followed by an informal lively discussion between the architects and the professors in the department courtyard.







STUDENT VOLUNTEERS

The event was organized by the Department of Architecture and NASA India. The NASA India student team was headed by Mr. Hari Sasikumar, National President of NASA India; Mr. Chembian B, Unit Secretary; and Mr. Akshay Karthick, Unit Designee. The organizing team dedicated themselves tirelessly over the past month, meticulously arranging the jury and ensuring a seamless flow throughout the jury process, as well as orchestrating a well-structured panel discussion.



