

## No.F.23-13/2007-TS.III (Pt.I) Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Higher Education \*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi, dated, the 14<sup>th</sup> July, 2016

## **ORDER**

Subject:- Nomination of two persons on the Board of Governors of National Institutes of Technology (NITs) by the Council of NITs – regarding.

Section 11 of the National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (NITSER) Act, 2007 provides for the composition of the Board of Governors of every Institute (National Institute of Technology). As per provisions under Section 11 (e) of the NITSER Act, 2007, NITSER Council will nominate two persons as Members of the Board of Governors of every Institute.

2. In exercise of the provisions under Section 11 (e) of the NITSER Act, 2007, Hon'ble Minister of Human Resource Development in her capacity as the Chairperson of the Council of NITSER had nominated following persons as the Members on the Board of Governors of the following NITs:-

S.No.	Name of the Institute	Nominees of Council of NITs
1.	NIT – Agartala	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath, Chairperson, Centre for Neuroscience, IISc, Bangalore.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Sanghamitra Bandopadhyay, Director, ISI, Kolkata.</li> </ul>
2.	NIT – Calicut	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Manju Bansal, Professor, IISc, Bangalore; Founder, Institute of Bioinformatics and Applied Biotechnology.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Mythili Ramaswamy, Dean, TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore.</li> </ul>
3.	NIT – Durgapur	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Mitali Mukherjee, Senior Principal Scientist, CSIR Institute of Geonomics, Delhi.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Jyotsna Dhawan, Scientist, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, CSIR, Hyderabad / Professor, NCBS.</li> </ul>
4.	MNIT – Jaipur	<ul><li>(i) Dr. Shashi Bala Singh, Director, DRDO (Biological Sciences, Medicine), Delhi.</li><li>(ii) Ms. Vidita Vaidya, Bhatnagar Awart, TIFR, Mumbai.</li></ul>
5.	NIT – Jalandhar	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Archana Bhattacharyya, Director, Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Mumbai.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. J. Manjula, Director, Electronics &amp; Communication Systems, DRDO, Delhi.</li> </ul>

Dox

S.No.	Name of the Institute	Nominees of Council of NITs
6.	NIT – Raipur	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Sulochana Gadgil, Fellor of National Academic of Sciences, Allahabad.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Geeta Varadan, Director, ADRIN, Department of Space, Hyderabad.</li> </ul>
7.	NIT – Rourkela	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Shobana Narasimhan, Dean, Academic Affairs, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Shobhona Sharma, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, TIFR, Mumbai.</li> </ul>
8.	NIT – Srinagar	<ul> <li>(i) Dr. Prema Ramchandran, Director, Nutrition Foundation of India, Delhi.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Chandrima Shaha, Director, National Institute of Immunology; VP, INSA, New Delhi.</li> </ul>
9.	SVNIT – Surat	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Sharmila Mande, Chief Scientist of R&amp;D, Bio Sciences, TCS Innovation Labs, Pune.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Subha Tole, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamenta Research, Mumbai.</li> </ul>
10.	NIT – Tiruchirappalli	<ul> <li>(i) Ms. Vinod Krishan, Senior Professor &amp; Dean of Science, Indian Institute of Astrophysics Bangalore.</li> <li>(ii) Dr. Gagandeep Kang, Professor, Christian Medica College, Vellor.</li> </ul>
11.	NIT – Warangal	<ul> <li>(i) Dr. Tessy Thomas, Project Director, Agni-IV, DRDO Hyderabad.</li> <li>(ii) Ms. Veena Krishnaji Parnaik, Chief Scientist, Centre for Cellular Molecular Biology, Hyderabad.</li> </ul>

3. As per Section 12 (a) of the Act, the term of the office of members of the Board shall be three years from the date of nomination. The aforesaid nominations shall be valid till 19<sup>th</sup> May, 2019 or until further orders, whichever occurs earlier.

Director (NITs)

Tel: 23070186

To

The Nominees of the Council of NITs mentioned in para 2 above.

## Copy to:-

- 1. The Chairperson, Board of Governors of concerned NITs.
- 2. The Director of concerned NITs.
- The Registrars of concerned NITs with a request to update the information on the website of the Institute.
- PS to Hon'ble HRM.
- 5. PSO to Secretary, Department of Higher Education, MHRD.