

Minutes of the 42nd Meeting of the Senate (Special Meeting) of National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli held on 24th January 2019 at 04.00 PM in EEE Auditorium, NIT, Tiruchirappalli

The following Members were present in the Meeting:

1.	Dr. Mini Shaji Thomas	Chairperson
2.	Dr. P. J. A. Alphonse	Member
3.	Dr. R. B. Anand	Member
4.	Dr. S. Anandan	Member
5.	Dr. N. Anantharaman	Member
6.	Dr. M. Arivazhagan	Member
7.	Dr. P. Asokan	Member
8.	Dr. A. K. Bakthavatsalam	Member
9.	Dr. S. R. Balasundaram	Member
10.	Dr. M. Bhaskar	Member
11.	Dr. A. Chandra Bose	Member
12.	Dr. L. Cindrella	Member
13.	Dr. D. Deivamoney Selvam	Member
14.	Dr. K. Dhanalakshmi	Member
15.	Dr. M. Duraiselvam	Member
16.	Dr. N. Gopalakrishnan	Member
17.	Dr. N. P. Gopalan	Member
18.	Dr. J. Hemalatha	Member
19.	Dr. T. N. Janakiraman	Member
20.	Dr. P. Jayabalan	Member
21.	Dr. R. Jeyapaul	Member
22.	Dr. P. Kalaichelvi	Member
23.	Dr. P. A. Krishnan	Member
24.	Dr. S. Kumaran	Member
25.	Dr. V. Kumaran	Member
26.	Dr. N. Kumaresan	Member
27.	Dr. G. Lakshmi Narayanan	Member
28.	Dr. R. Leela Velusamy	Member
29.	Dr. C. Mala	Member
30.	Dr. Mary Saira Bhanu	Member
31.	Dr. K. M. Meera S. Begum	Member
32.	Dr. K. Murugesan	Member
33.	Dr. R. Murugesan	Member
34.	Dr. P. Muthuchidambaranathan	Member
35.	Dr. K. Muthukkumaran	Member

36.	Dr. K. Muthukumar	Member
37.	Dr. V. Muthupandi	Member
38.	Dr. C. Nagamani	Member
39.	Dr. C. Natarajan	Member
40.	Dr. S. Natarajan	Member
41.	Dr. S. Nickolas	Member
42.	Dr. P. Palanisamy	Member
43.	Dr. R. Ponalagusamy	Member
44.	Dr. T. K. Radhakrishnan	Member
45.	Dr. S. Raghavan	Member
46.	Dr. Ramakalyan Ayyagari	Member
47.	Dr. S. Raman Sankaranarayanan	Member
48.	Dr. N. Ramasubramanian	Member
49.	Dr. S. T. Ramesh	Member
50.	Dr. V. Ravi Chandran	Member
51.	Dr. B. Ravisankar	Member
52.	Dr. Samson Mathew	Member
53.	Dr. J. Sarat Chandra Babu	Member
54.	Dr. P. Sathiya	Member
55.	Dr. S. Shanmugam	Member
56.	Dr. V. J. Sivakumar	Member
57.	Dr. S. P. Sivapirakasam	Member
58.	Dr. P. Sivashanmugam	Member
59.	Dr. T. Srinivasa Rao	Member
60.	Dr. D. Sriram Kumar	Member
61.	Dr. G. Subbaiyan	Member
62.	Dr. K. Sundareswaran	Member
63.	Dr. S. Sudha	Member
64.	Dr. N. Thamaraiselvan	Member
65.	Dr. M. Udayakumar	Member
66.	Dr. G. Uma	Member
67.	Dr. M. Umapathy	Member
68.	Dr. B. Vasuki	Member
69.	Dr. AR. Veerappan	Member
70.	Dr. S. Venkatachalapathy	Member
71.	Dr. B. Venkataramani	Member
72.	Dr. A. Venkataswamy Reddy	Member
73.	Dr. V. Vinod Balakrishnan	Member
74.	Shri. A. Palanivel	Secretary
75.	Dr. R. Joseph Ponniah	Special Invitee
76.	Dr. A. Meenatchi Sundram	Special Invitee

77.	Dr. P. Saikrishnan	Special Invitee
78.	Dr. B. Senthil Arasu	Special Invitee
79.	Dr. Rajeswari Sridhar	Special Invitee
80.	Dr. T. Ramesh	Special Invitee
81.	Dr. V. Arul Mozhi Selvan,	Special Invitee
82.	Dr. R. Gandhimathi	Special Invitee
83.	Dr. S. Moorthi	Special Invitee
84.	Mr. A. Sivarajan	Special Invitee

The following members expressed their inability to attend the meeting:

1.	Dr. K. Ramamurthy	External Member
2.	Dr. Gurumurthy Neelakandan	External Member
3.	Dr. G. C. Anupama	External Member
4.	Dr. N. Ammasai Gounden	Member
5.	Dr. S. Arul Daniel	Member
6.	Dr. K. Baskar	Member
7.	Dr. R. Karvembu	Member
8.	Dr. S. P. Kumaresh Babu	Member
9.	Dr. S. Moses Santhakumar	Member
10.	Dr. B. Ramadoss	Member
11.	Dr. N. Sivakumaran	Member
12.	Dr. G. Swaminathan	Member

The following members did not attend the meeting:

1.	Dr. G. Arthanareeswaran	Member
2.	Dr. S. Kumanan	Member
3.	Dr. Michael Arock	Member
4.	Dr. R. Narayanasamy	Member
5.	Dr. M. Premalatha	Member
6.	Dr. M. Punniyamoorthy	Member
7.	Dr. D. Sastikumar	Member
8.	Dr. T. Srinivas	Member
9.	Dr. S. Velmathi	Member
10.	Dr. K. Viswanathan lyer	Member

The Secretary, Senate welcomed the members to the 42nd Meeting of the Senate (special meeting) and having ensured a quorum, continued with the Senate proceedings.

The Chairperson formally welcomed, Dr. S. Shanmugam and Dr. P. Muthuchidambaranathan, who have been newly appointed as Dean (Academic) and Associate Dean (M. S. (by Research) & Ph. D.) respectively. Further, the Chairperson thanked the former Dean (Academic), Dr. C. Nagamani, for her valuable contributions to the institute.

The Chairperson highlighted the importance of the special Senate meeting and appreciated the efforts of Academic office and Admission team for the preparation of proposed seat matrix considering the Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) as per MHRD OM.

Following the formal welcome address by the Chairperson, Registrar started the deliberations on the agenda item.

Approval Item

 Seat matrix with reservation for Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) for all UG, PG and Ph. D. programmes from the academic year 2019-20 onwards

In accordance with the provisions of the Constitution (One Hundred and Third Amendment) Act 2019, and the reference of Ministry of Social Justice and empowerment vide OM No. 20013/01/2018-BC-II dated 17th January 2019, enabling provision of reservation for the Economically Weaker Sections (EWS), who are not covered under the existing scheme of reservations for the Scheduled Castes, the Scheduled Tribes and the Socially and Educationally Backward Classes, it has been decided to provide reservation in admission to educational institutions subject to a maximum of ten percent of the total seats in each category (MHRD OM, F No: 12-4/2019-U1 dated 17th January 2019).

In view of this, MHRD has requested, every Central Educational Institution to increase the number of seats over and above its annual permitted strength in each branch of study, with prior approval of the appropriate authority.

Further, MHRD has directed the Directors of all 31 NIT's and the Director, IIEST, Shibpur (F.No.35 - 4/2018 – TS. III dated 18^{th} January 2019) to finalize the seat plan from the academic session 2019-20.

The Senate discussed the matter in detail and approved the seat matrix considering the EWS for all UG (B. Tech. and B. Arch.), PG (M. Tech., M. Arch., M. Sc., MCA and MBA) and Ph. D. programmes at one go from the academic year 2019-20 onwards as per the details given in Table 1.

Table 1 Seat Matrix with Reservation for Economically Weaker Sections for All

Programs

Programs / Category	B. Tech. (Chemical Engineering, MME)	B. Tech. (7), MCA, MBA	B. Arch.	M. Tech. (19), M.Sc. (3)	M. Tech. (Industrial Metallurgy), M. Arch.	Ph. D.	Total Intake
Existing Intake	62	92	46	28	20	117	1771
OP	32	46	24	14	10	59	889
EWS	7	11	6	4	2	15	226
OBC	21	32	16	9	7	39	597
sc	12	18	8	5	4	22	334
ST	6	8	4	3	2	10	168
Intake with EWS (A)	78	115	58	35	25	145	2214
DASA (B)	DASA (B) 152 (B. Tech.)		2	107 (M. Tech. and M. Arch.)			261
Grand Total (A + B)				2475			

RESOLUTION 42/SENATE (Special) /2019/1

RESOLVED THAT the seat matrix considering the EWS for all UG (B. Tech. and B. Arch.), PG (M. Tech., M. Arch., M. Sc., MCA and MBA) and Ph. D. programmes from the academic year 2019-20 onwards be approved.

The Meeting concluded with thanks to the Chair.

Secretary, Senate

Chairperson, Senate