

OFFICE OF THE DEAN, ACADEMIC PROGRAMMES NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, TIRUCHIRAPPALLI TIRUCHIRAPPALLI 620 015, INDIA TEL: +91 - 431 - 250 3013, FAX: +91 - 431 - 250 0133

DR. RAMAKALYAN AYYAGARI DEAN, ACADEMIC PROGRAMMES

October 25, 2021

NIT-T, the only NIT to host PMRFs

The Prime Minister's Research Fellows (PMRF) Scheme has been designed for improving the quality of research in various higher educational institutions in the country. With attractive fellowships, the scheme seeks to attract the best talent into research thereby realizing the vision of development through innovation. The scheme was announced in the Budget 2018-19.

The institutes which can offer PMRF include all the IITs, all the IISERs, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru and some of the top Central Universities/NITs that offer science and/or technology degrees. The candidates will be selected through a rigorous selection process and their performance will be reviewed suitably through a national convention. More details are available at https://pmrf.in

Consistently positioned at the top in the NIRF ranking, specifically atop all other NITs, **NIT Tiruchirappalli** is the only NIT to host PMRFs since the Academic Year 2020-21. Prof. Mini Shaji Thomas, Director of NIT Tiruchirappalli says it is a great recognition for this institute and will improve the quality of research output by a great deal. She congratulates every member of the NIT Tiruchirappalli family – the faculty, the staff, and the students – who work hard to achieve better ranking year after year.

S. No.	Dept.	July 2020	Jan 2021	July 2021	TOTAL
1	Architecture		2	1	3
2	Chemical Engg.	1	1		2
3	Chemistry		1	1	2
4	Civil Engg.		1		1
5	Computer Science		1		1
6	Energy & Environment		1		1
7	Electrical & Electronics	1	1	1	3
8	Electronics & Communications		1		1
9	Instrumentation & Control			1	1
10	Materials & Metallurgy		1	1	2
11	Mechanical Engg			1	1
12	Physics		1		1
	TOTAL AS ON DATE	2	11	6	19

The following are the 19 PMRFs as on date. Department wise –

Details overleaf.

Starting September 2020

S. No.	Student Name	Dept	Roll No	Supervisor	Broad Area
1	M A Sundaramahalingam	CHL	402119004	Dr. P. Sivashanmugam	10
2	Merlin Mary N J	EEE	407119006	Dr. Shelas Sathyan	3

Starting January 2021

S. No.	Student Name	Dept	Roll No	Supervisor	Broad Area
1	Nikhil Bhandari	ARCH	401119004	Dr. T. Srinivas	1
2	S. Niveditha	ARCH	401119051	Dr. D. Kannamma	1
3	Geetu P Paul	CHL	402119002	Dr. V. Nagajyothi	6
4	Vishnunarayanan N V P	CHY	404119006	Dr. A. Sreekanth	9
5	Rima Das	CIV	403120005	Dr. K. Muthukkumaran	1
6	Kannadasan K	CSE	406119003	Dr. Shameeda Begum	10
7	Hareesh Krishnan H	DEE	417119002	Dr. A. Bakthavatsalam	10
8	A Mariselvam	EEE	407119001	Dr. Jaya Bharata Reddy	3
9	Vadlamudi Roja	ECE	408119016	Dr. D. Sriram Kumar	3
10	Amal V Purushothaman	MME	412119003	Dr. S. Muthukumaran	7
11	Balamurugan R	PHY	413119004	Dr. A. Chandra Bose	10

Starting August 2021

S. No.	Student Name	Dept	Roll No	Supervisor	Broad Area
1	Jesna Mathew	ARCH	401120002	Dr. G. Subbaiyan	1
2	R Abhijna Krishna	CHY	404120001	Dr. S. Velmathi	9
3	Som Jairaj Ankar	EEE	407120001	Dr. K.P. Pinkymol	3
4	E Sharu Johnson	ICE	410120001	Dr. G. Uma	5
5	R Kiran Kumar Reddy	MECH	411120009	Dr. Nivish George	2
6	N Balaji	MME	412420001	Dr. D. Nagarajan	7

a.Ramakalyan