NPSC 2018

The National Power Systems Conference (NPSC) has been India's premier conference in the area of Power Engineering since 1981. It is a biennial conference providing a platform for researchers and engineers from Academia, Industry and Utility to exchange their ideas, and experiences. The event is considered an excellent opportunity for fostering academic and industrial collaborations. The "20th National Power Systems Conference- NPSC 2018" was organized by the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, Tamilnadu, India during 14th-16th December 2018.

With the theme of "Towards a sustainable energy future through efficient, smart and green technologies", NPSC 2018 intended to bring out new perceptions in the realm of state of art in power engineering for a sustainable energy future.

The conference featured various plenary talks, panel discussions on state of art in Power System technologies and paper presentations. The areas of interest included

- Future Grids, EMS/SCADA, Wide Area Monitoring and Control, Power System Protection and Security
- Micro Grids, Renewable Energy System and Grid Integration, Vehicle to Grid technologies, Energy Storage systems, Active Distribution Networks
- High Power Electronic Devices, Electrical Machine & Drives, Power Quality, Power System Stability and Control
- Transmission planning, Optimal operation, FACTS Controllers and HVDC systems, New Dielectric and conducting materials
- Situational Awareness, Smart Sensors, Cyber Physical Systems, Big Data Analytics, Cyber Security, Signal Processing Applications in Power Systems

NPSC 2018 was enlightened by the gracious presence of several global leaders from academia, industry and research in the field of power engineering. Some of the names are

Prof M Ramamoorty, Former Director General, CPRI

Shri. S. K. Soonee, Advisor, POSOCO

Dr. Saifur Rahman Director, Virginia Tech Advanced Research Institute, USA, IEEE

Prof. S.C. Srivatsava professor IIT-Kanpur, National Coordinator, NPSC

Prof Bhim Singh IIT Delhi

Shri KVS Baba CMD, Power System Operation Corporation (POSOCO)

Dr. Ramakrishna Gokaraju Professor, University of Saskatchewan.

Dr. Ashok Kumar Pradhan, Professor, IIT Kharagpur.

Dr. Sachin Srivastava Power Grid Automation R&D, ABB

Dr. Anil Kulkarni Professor, IIT Bombay. Dr. S. A. Soman Professor, IIT Bombay.

Dr. Aniruddha M. Gole Distinguished Professor, University of Manitoba.

Dr. Om Nayak MD, Nayak Power Systems

Dr. Jayashri Ravishankar, School of Electrical engineering and Telecommunications, UNSW.

Dr. N.P. Padhy Professor, IIT Roorkee

Dr. Subir Sen COO, Powergrid Corporation of India Ltd

Dr. Venkataramana Ajjarapu Professor, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA.

Dr. Saikat Chakrabarti, Professor, IIT Kanpur.

Dr. Bikash Pal Professor, Imperial College London.

Dr. Anurag K. Srivastava Associate Professor, WSU

Dr. Nagaraja Ramappa MD, PRDC

Prestigious Awards conferred during NPSC 2018

- 1. Malaviya Excellence Award in Power Systems (by IIT BHU) to Prof. S. C. Srivastava, IIT Kanpur
- 2. Academic Excellence Award NPSC 201 to Prof. Bhim Singh, IIT Delhi
- 3. Industry Excellence Award NPSC 2018 to Dr. K. Rajamani, Chief Consultant, M/s. Adani Electricity Mumbai Ltd.
- 4. Dr. Ramamoorthy Best Paper Award in Power Systems for "A Generalised State-Space Approach for Studying EMTP Simulation Models" authored by T S Vinay Chindu and Anil Kulkarni (IIT Bombay)
- 5. Dr. Ramamoorthy Best Paper Award in Power Electronics & Drives for "Novel Non-isolated Modified Interleaved DC-DC Converter to Integrate Ultracapacitor and Battery Sources for Electric Vehicle Application" authored by Kumaravel S, Gangavarapu Guru kumar, Kuruva Veeranna, Karthikeyan V (NIT Calicut)

.